8. User and Group Administration

GeoNetwork uses the concept of Users, Groups and User Profiles. A User can be part of several Groups. A User also has a User Profile[3]. The combination of User Profile and Group defines what tasks the User can perform on the system or on specific metadata records.

8.1 Creating new user Groups

The administrator can create new groups of users. User groups can correspond to logical units within an organisation. For example groups for Fisheries, Agriculture, Land and Water, Health etcetera.

To create new groups you should be logged on with an account that has administrative privileges. To log in, simply go to the home page and enter your username and password in the top right corner fields, then click on the login button (Figure 8.1, “Login form”).

[Important]Important

New installations of GeoNetwork use admin for both username and password. It is important to change this from the Administration page once you logged on!

Figure 8.1. Login form

Login form

Figure 8.2. Administration page

Administration page

  1. Select Add a new group[4];

    Figure 8.3. Group management

    Group management

  2. Fill out the details. The email address will be used to send feedback on data downloads when they occur for resources that are part of the Group.

    Figure 8.4. Group edit form

    Group edit form

  3. Click on Save

[Important]Important

The Name should NOT contain spaces! You can use the Localisation functions to provide localised names for groups.

Access privileges can be set per metadata record. You can define privileges on a per Group basis. Privileges that can be set relate to visibility of the Metadata (Publish), data Download, Interactive Map access and display of the record in the Featured section of the home page.

Editing defines the groups for which editors can edit the metadata record.

Notify defines what groups are notified when a file managed by GeoNetwork is downloaded.

Below is an example of the privileges management table related to a dataset (Figure 8.5, “Privilege settings”).

Figure 8.5. Privilege settings

Privilege settings



[3] A User can only have one User Profile associated.

[4] You may want to rename or remove the Sample group


Other documents: The complete manual in pdf format | License | Readme | Changes